Dear Fellow Writers (July/August e-zine starts here…)

Christina Katz


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about writing career trajectories, the paths writers choose, the goals we set, and the growth we experience.

I’ve also been thinking about how speeded up things are getting and how this need for speed can put a lot of stress and strain on writers.

The Internet has been a boon to us, bringing us the ability to connect with like-minded others around the world. But from an evolutionary perspective, I don’t know how prepared we are for all of this and I wonder what the long-term implications are for the writing life.

There is one thing I do know for sure: we all need to break out of the group mind once in a while and assess where we have been, where we are, and where we are going from a very personal point of view.

Like the columnists you read here ten times a year, the best writers have always been capable of thinking their own thoughts and expressing them in a way that is unique to them.

But lose this ability to the rush and the grind and, as a writer, you pretty much lose everything.

For me, it’s important to maintain a balance between serving the group and serving myself and my family. And after creating a goodly amount of success over the past several years, it sure feels good to carve out a little time for self-reflection and planning this summer. Even after just a few weeks of slowing down, I sense the future coming into clearer focus.

I hope you will give yourself gift of time this summer.

You work hard. You deserve it.

Make good things happen,

Christina Katz
Publisher and Editor
www.christinakatz.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter

1 Response to “Dear Fellow Writers (July/August e-zine starts here…)”


  1. 1 writerinspired July 9, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Christina,
    I love that you said this (we’re all thinking it, right?) Technology has been a blessing: in linking me to you, other writer mamas, teachers and a support system throughout the world. However, getting wrapped up in the go-go-go of the world wide web is daunting, and exhausting. I will “unplug” so I can tune in to my own core and the basics of what being a writer and teacher means to me. What better time than summer to do some self reflection? Thanks!
    ~Mary Jo


Comments are currently closed.



RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 285,275 hits

