Dear Fellow Writers (June Issue Begins)

Christina Katz

I’ve just returned from the Writer’s Digest/BEA Conference and Book Expo America back-to-back.

I had a thoroughly enjoyable experience speaking to writers looking to develop platforms in two sessions, selling out copies of Get Known Before the Book Deal that were on hand, listening to thriller author Karin Slaughter and former Publisher’s Weekly editor Sara Nelson, seeing all the folks from the Writer’s Digest Publishing Community including publisher (and my former editor) Jane Friedman, touching base with some agents I know, and having a chance to hang out with a couple of former students.

At Book Expo America, I enjoyed several days of education about the publishing industry. I was able to see where publishing stands today (more or less since the show was smaller this year and some houses were not represented at all) by touring the entire floor of the Jacob K. Javits Center. I bumped into or met lots of booksellers, librarians, editors, agents, writers, and authors and just generally tried to get as much out of the experience as possible so I could pass on what I learned to my readers and students.

I was able to add my several days of immersion at BEA to all that I had already heard and learned at the Tools of Change Conference in February and I’ve drawn several conclusions for writers looking to grow skill sets and expand careers that will survive in the new, complicated future of publishing that is already upon us.

For rising writers, it’s often hard to know how to prioritize our time each day to grow a writing career, especially if that time is already limited. I’ve posted my observations in my Get Known Before the Book Deal blog (here). I hope you will read it and take my hard-won observations to heart when you are planning for 2010.

I always want writers to succeed because writers are my tribe. I have been serving writers for many years but the only writers I can really assist are those who are willing to work hard and consistently and take 100% responsibility for their efforts.
There is no luck in the publishing business. There is only the “luck” that you cultivate through education, effort and action and then leveraging that professional prowess into making informed, strategic decisions that are win-win-win for all parties involved.

In other words, it isn’t about you or me; it’s about us. And the people who understand this are going to stay healthy and vital and the people who don’t are quite likely to leave the playing field. We are watching the walls melt in the publishing industry. But this isn’t the end, really, it’s more like a new beginning for those who can stand navigate shifting ground.

It is my pleasure to help writers make good choices and help you work hard towards goals that are for everyone’s highest good. I feel like all the time, energy and money that I have invested to stay current is a huge advantage for every student I work with and I look forward to updating they way I work to keep up with changing times.

Whenever you feel unsure about which way to go, I hope you will remember the motto…

Make good things happen,

Christina Katz
Publisher and Editor
www.christinakatz.com

@thewritermama on Twitter
Please note: June 14th is your last chance to pick up Writer’s Digest with a special platform section. June 30th is your last chance to sign up for August classes at reduced prices. And my June Webinar for Writer’s Digest has been moved to October. Keep reading for more details.
RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 288,758 hits

