Reasons to Write: Write to Sustain Yourself

Christina Katz

By Christina Katz
Sustenance is an especially good word to describe why I write. I write to sustain myself. I write to nourish myself and others. I write for money, sure. Why shouldn’t I? But I also write to provide for others and to be provided for by my own words.

I’ve heard a lot of writers say, “I write because I can’t not write.” In fact, I’ve heard this line so often, it has become a cliché for me.

I am capable of not writing. Certainly I’ve had periods in my life where I wrote less than I do now. But if I look more closely at my past, I realize that I was writing. I was journaling and eventually journaling led me back to writing for others.

So even when I tend to think I wasn’t writing, I was. I’ve pretty much been writing my entire adult life. I’ve filled notebook after notebook and now I write book after book, article after article, column after column. Sometimes I think I don’t even realize how prolific I am.

Conversely, when I write for others, I tend to journal less. Or at least, I tend to journal less formally and more irregularly. Journaling becomes more like jottings. Just a quick splash on paper to figure out what I’m trying to say. When I’m writing a lot, I lean towards a sketchbook page rather than a lined notebook. Perhaps all my deadline writing causes my mind to crave the blank white space.

As a kid, I filled a manila folder with my accumulated writings. What is it about the slow accumulation of words, then paragraphs, and finally pages that gives sustenance to the kind of person who loves to write?

I relish the alchemy of mind meeting paper. I never tire of it. I delight in the unlimited possibilities. Yet the slow, methodical process of laying down words is grounding, as well. Words are like clay. You can sculpt them into one thing and then smash them back together and start over again. You wouldn’t want to preserve anything but your best work in final form, but you love the grit under your fingernails and the give and take of the words in your hands, you eagerly anticipate the final polished piece.

Doesn’t this really describe more than writing because you can’t not write? To me that expression sounds like a mosquito bite that you can’t not scratch. I believe that writing runs a lot deeper than a response to an external irritation. Perhaps the writer is more like the oyster kneading the piece of sand into something exquisite, or the potter kneading the clay into something more than a pot that merely contains.

So many writers sure seem to have transformed a nervous habit into something more precious. I have a fairly intense personality, so maybe I write to temper my more extreme urges. Maybe I write because each word is like a tiny weight mooring me a little bit more into this world and preventing me from floating away. Maybe every word of mine I see on paper is a tiny acquisition of myself, the act of self-claiming, the declaration of being.

Rather then writing as a raison-d’etre, then, perhaps writing is the affirmation of what already is. A way of saying what is and is not true. Each word a step closer to substance. Each session calling us to become our own disciple. Reminding us to not give ourselves away. But to own it. Every single word. All of it, sustenance.

Writer Mama by Christina KatzGet Known Before the Book Deal by Christina Katz Christina Katz is the author of Get Known Before the Book Deal, Use Your Personal Strengths to Build an Author Platform and Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids (both for Writer’s Digest Books). A platform development coach and consultant, she teaches writing career development, hosts the Northwest Author Series, and is the publisher of several e-zines including Writers on the Rise. Christina blogs at The Writer Mama Riffs and Get Known Before the Book Deal, and speaks at MFA programs, literary events, and conferences around the country.

7 Responses to “Reasons to Write: Write to Sustain Yourself”


  1. 1 Ash June 2, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    As you kind of mentioned here, I think one of the main things that drives me to write is the accumulation of pages. Especially when I was younger, it was a challenge for me to see just how much I could write. I’ve also noticed that now that I’ve turned more seriously to writing personal essays I’ve journaled a lot less. I think part of that for me is simply because my personal essays eat up all of my thoughts. I read somewhere before that if you’re a writer you shouldn’t journal. Instead you should let your thoughts fester until you are ready to write. I’m not sure if I completely agree with it but I think it does hold some truth.

  2. 2 Italian Mother Syndrome June 5, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Hence my love/hate relationship with my computer — it helps me write faster, but then there’s no paper accumulation to show me I’m making progress!

    As for journaling — right now anything that’s too personal for social media consumption goes to the dairy. The random thoughts, titles, story outlines, ideas, etc. go to the spiral notebook. And the blog post ideas go to the computer. That way my sustenance is stockpiled for those inevitable (though infrequent) days that I run out of something to say.

  3. 3 Italian Mother Syndrome June 5, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    P.S. That would be *diary, not dairy. 😉 Thanks for a wonderful reflection, Christina!

  4. 4 Dawn Herring June 5, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. As a young person I wrote mostly essays with a few songs in between. Once I met my husband, I took up journaling and have over 30 journals I’ve filled since then. I love keeping a journal, which can often jump start ideas for articles, essays, and posts for my blog.
    I enjoy working with words. I love looking words up in my dictionary, not to just verify spellings but to immerse myself in meaning. I love being able to take life experience and share it with others giving reason to hope in tough times. I also enjoy bringing good humor into someones’s day, causing them to laugh out loud.
    The written word is my favorite way to express life.

  5. 5 Pattie June 8, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I write because without it, I bottle up and explode in not-so-pretty ways. Plus I LOVE the feel of paper and a great gel pen.

  6. 6 Mr. Nuggets June 9, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Couldn’t have said it better myself. Believe me. Thank you. This is wonderful.

    Just recently discovered journals I wrote in high school (about 2 years ago *wink*). It’s amazing how certain themes have remained consistent in my life.

    This part is especially me: “I have a fairly intense personality, so maybe I write to temper my more extreme urges. Maybe I write because each word is like a tiny weight mooring me a little bit more into this world and preventing me from floating away.”

    I write also to place a mental framework around myself that helps me to look for the small moments in life that are our true treasures; and since we can so easily miss these moments in the craziness of our hectic schedules I HAVE to write. Keeps me sane. ….well, sort of. 🙂

    Thank you for this post, Christina!

  7. 7 Kristine June 9, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    That’s exactly how I feel about writing…I cannot remember a time, even when I was little, that I did NOT write. Thank you for sharing this post!


Comments are currently closed.



RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 285,791 hits

