Dear Fellow Writers (June 2008),

It’s June. Hooray! We’ve almost reached the half-way point of the year.

This month is the perfect time to assess how you are progressing on your annual goals, rechart your course to achieve those ever-elusive goals and celebrate what you have already accomplished.

As for me, let’s just say it’s been an extremely busy year so far. I’ve been pouring heart and guts into my second book, Get Known Before the Book Deal, Use Your Personal Strengths to Grow an Author Platform (October 2008 Writer’s Digest Books).

Writing is hard work, for me, but publicizing and promoting my books feels more expansive and gives me a chance to share the value I’ve worked so hard to create with others. So I know what I’m going to be doing this summer. An online presence revamp, including a much overdue website makeover for writersontherise.com.

Sharing my hard work with others gives me a chance to celebrate. And when you share your work with others I hope you will celebrate too. What are we celebrating? Our hard work, our commitment to our topic, our service to our readers, and the synergy that occurs when the writing finally ends up in the reader’s hands (or on the reader’s screen, as the case may be).

Since I haven’t had a lot of time this year to sit around and pat myself on the back, I plan to set aside some time this month to do just that. It’s a job every writer really needs to do for herself. I can’t wait to re-connect with writer friends, to catch up on all that we are celebrating so far this year and to spend some quality down time with my family.

What are you celebrating? I hope it’s something satisfying.

One of our contributors is celebrating a major milestone. Columnist and editor, Kristin Bair O’Keeffe is cheerfully expecting with her husband Andrew over in Shanghai, China. You can follow their adoption journey over at Kristin’s blog, Shanghai Adventures of a Trailing Spouse.
Congratulations to the O’Keeffe family!

In further WOTR news, former columnist Abigail Green (who is now a columnist over at The Writer Mama e-zine has stepped up to teach Personal Essays That Get Published. Of course, we have many excellent essayists who write for WOTR. I asked Abby to teach this class because she had a real knack for helping students as a former TA for my Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff class. Abby is a skillful and widely published essayist and I know that anyone who takes her class is going to be so glad they did. (More info below or stop by Abby’s blog Diary of a New Mom.)

In the writing-for-publication spirit,

Christina Katz

Editor and Publisher

Writers on the Rise

P.S. If you have a special writer mama in your life, feel free to swing by my blog for some great gift ideas for moms who love to write. And I hope you’ll consider my first book, Writer Mama, too.

···································································

RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 285,275 hits

