March Your Writing Career Around

Dear Fellow Writers,

“March!” It’s not a word I’m unfamilar with.

As a writer, I ask my words to march their way onto the page time and time again. Although, sometimes they are about as willing as toddlers and then I have to cajole them instead.

(Personally, I prefer it when they march.)

As a business woman, I often ask myself to march. March to the post office and get the mail. March to the store and get more paper and pens. March to the bank and deposit some money.

(Okay, that last one is really not so hard. But getting myself to march to the beat of the IRS, well, let’s just say…I’m always happy when that particular job is done.)

As an author, I march myself at all sorts of different paces for different aspects of my role. In one hat, I’m marching as a speaker. In another, I’m marching as a workshop leader. In another, I’m marching as an administrator.

As a teacher, I march my students around so they can tackle assignments and make their deadlines. This suits the taskmaster in me just fine. And most of them actually appreciate it.

March is the name of this month and it’s a helpful word, not one we should shirk from because of a military connotation or because it isn’t politically correct.

It sure comes in handy on a Spring day, when the sun is shining and the birds are twittering and the last thing I want to do is march on over to my computer, march some words across the page, march some tasks off my to-do list, march my face out into the world, march my students into more consistent writers, and then–finally!– march myself out the door, grabbing my daughter and my dogs on the way, and marching out into the sun-shiny day.

Or whatever is left of it.

Wishing you a very March-y month!

In the writing-for-publication spirit,

Christina Katz
Editor and Publisher

P.S.
You can always refer back to everything you read here in the Writers on the Rise blog, where these articles will archived over the course of the upcoming month.
•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Christina Katz, author of Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids, is working on her second book for Writer’s Digest Books, Get Known Before the Book Deal, Use Your Personal Strengths to Grow an Author Platform. She has also written over two hundred articles for magazines, newspapers, and online publications and has appeared on “Good Morning America.” Christina is a popular writing instructor who has taught hundreds of writers over the past seven years. She blogs daily at The Writer Mama Riffs and is publisher and editor of two zines, Writers on the Rise and The Writer Mama. More at http://www.thewritermama.com/.

RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 285,791 hits

