Writing On-the-Go

hope_000.gifTime Management for Writers

By C. Hope Clark

Anyone who knows me understands I like my life simple. Most everyone makes that claim, but how well do you follow through? The world is a busy place. Everyone is always coming and going, running and jogging through obligations and deadlines. When are you supposed to sit down and write?

The answer is simple: be a writer–––wherever you are. And no, that doesn’t mean carrying a suitcase of materials. Even when I’m riding with someone to the mall, I have my basic writing tools with me. It’s not hard. And the sooner this practice becomes a habit, the more prolific you’ll become as a writer. Here’s what you’ll need:

Spiral Notebook: Five-by-seven or four-by-six inches, it doesn’t matter. The point is to have something easy to carry and tuck into the glove box, your purse or your briefcase. The spiral feature makes it easier to lay flat and tuck a writing instrument inside for safekeeping throughout your travels. They are cheap, so no excuse; I buy them by the dozen. They’ve even accompanied me to the track where I challenge myself to think of a new editorial for each quarter-mile lap.

Pen: You know the style you like. I like a fine point, blue ink Zebra. I spend more on my pens than my notebooks, because picking up that pen makes me want to write more. I also write in the margins of my books, and this pen makes for better note taking. I use the clip to tuck it away in the notebook.

Non-Fiction, How-to Book: My current one is Immediate Fiction by Jerry Cleaver. If I have more than five minutes but less than 15, I open to my bookmark and study. I don’t like to waste the larger chunks of time reading when I can be writing. so I absorb my how-to material in between the gym, the grocery store and while waiting at the doctor’s office.

Camera (optional): If you have a streak of journalist in you, or you are one who likes to “see” your characters and settings, keep your camera handy. Frankly, you can carry a camera case as easily as a purse, so purchase a case that acts as both.

You can’t get any simpler than that. Not enough time to write? Oh, please.
C. Hope Clark is founder and editor of FundsforWriters.com, annually recognized by Writer’s Digest in its poll of 101 Best Web Sites for Writers. She delivers four newsletters each week to thousands with her specialty being grants and income opportunities for writers of all sizes. She’s published over 200 articles on paper and online. Her magazine credits include Writer’s Digest, The Writer Magazine, ByLine Magazine, NextStep Teen, College Bound Teen, Landscape Management Magazine, TURF Magazine, and American Careers Magazine. Hope is a motivational soul known as “Freelance Hope” in many circles. Those reluctant to promote their writing cherish her trade paperback The Shy Writer: An Introvert’s Guide to Writing Success. Find more hope for your writing career at www.fundsforwriters.com & www.theshywriter.com.

RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 288,741 hits

