July/August ROAR Board for Subscribers and Contributors

Announce your publication, career and platform successes at our ROAR Board.

Or read them for inspiration.

[Please remember, however, this is not the place for posting press releases. We don’t have a bulletin board feature at this time.]

Thanks and happy writing!

8 Responses to “July/August ROAR Board for Subscribers and Contributors”


  1. 1 Heiddi July 17, 2007 at 1:00 am

    Hi Christina,

    I have a few pieces of good news. The first is that I finally decided to start a blog. Nothing fancy or over the top, just a place for me to write and purge. 🙂 Second, I’ve earned my first paid gig ever! My poem, “O Muse”, will be published in the July 30th edition of the Absolutewrite newsletter! 🙂 Going to get a manicure with that one, because I’m sure that as a fellow WriterMama, you know I don’t have time to do that. 🙂 Third, my essay “God”s Little Helper”, is being reviewed for an anthology called “Our Mothers Who art in Heaven.” If accepted, it will be published in May of next year. I’m so excited that I’m reviewing all of the stuff I’ve written in the last two years so that I could submit them. Anyway, that’s all of the good news I have for now. Maybe soon I’ll have more to report. Thanks

    Heiddi Zalamar

  2. 2 samantha waltz July 17, 2007 at 3:37 am

    I’m delighted to share another sale to Chicken Soup. My essay “Mocha Madness” will appear in Chicken Soup for Coffee Lovers.

  3. 3 jess July 17, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    I thought I’d written about my Chicken Soup for the Chocolate Lover’s Soul success but maybe not. Anyway, I sold The Dud in White to them and it will be out in November. I’ve tried for a long time to sell CS something. Two days before deadline, I whip out this little story from my childhood, put it away for a night, edit then email it and immediately I have a response that I’ve made the final cut. So… is there a trick to this? Like waiting to the last minute? Or is spontaneity the secret ingredient? Or was this just a fluke? Any comments?

    Another bit of news! I acquired an agent. Yippeeeee! My inspirational novel will start making the rounds. 🙂

  4. 4 Magdalena Ball July 18, 2007 at 7:16 am

    Hi Christina, I’m very pleased to report that my debut novel, Sleep Before Evening (http://tinyurl.com/yrbpga) has just been released by BeWrite Books. Sleep Before Evening follows the descent and redemption of Marianne, a young woman teetering at the edge of reason. Set in and about New York, this gritty, relentless story unfolds with the same cool detachment that motivates the central character to peel back the layers of her life and expose the painful scalding within.

    Thanks for letting me roar. I’m a fellow writer mama (I’ve got 3 kids: 4, 7, and 9), and my writing has definitely been written between changing diapers, doing the school runs, and with the help of Sesame Street. All the best. Magdalena

  5. 5 Laural Ringler July 21, 2007 at 3:15 am

    I’m excited about my new writing PR (personal record, I mean) = 4 articles in publication at the same time! They are: “Climb On: Like the Chuckanut Sandstone I Change Over Time” in Adventures NW Magazine, “Summer School For Parents: Reads to Increase Your Teen Knowledge” in the Chuckanut Reader, “Hideous Feet” in Stories With Grace, and “Tour de Whatcom Bicycle Ride” in Entertainment News Northwest.

    Here’s to writing at the intersection of parenting and outdoor adventure. And thanks Christina for the connection to Sharon Cindrich so I could review her E-Parenting book in the parenting books article.

  6. 6 Susan Usha Dermond August 8, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Hello Christina and fellow writers,

    I’m thrilled that my book, Calm and Compassionate Children, is one of three titles selected as the Editors’ Picks in the August issue of Shared Vision. http://www.shared-vision.com/20060814/sv_books The book, published by Ten Speed Press last March, has also been excerpted in the magazines, Creations and North Star Family Matters, and received a “recommended” review in Library Journal.

  7. 7 Heiddi August 14, 2007 at 1:53 am

    Hi Christina,

    I wanted to drop by to say that a week after my poem “O Dear Muse” was published on Absolute Write, someone emailed me asking for permission to reprint it in a literary journal! 🙂 He saw it on Absolute Write and contacted me. It is a print journal so it’ll be snail mailed to me. 🙂

    All the good news for now.

  8. 8 Christopher Hoare August 14, 2007 at 2:26 am

    Hi All:

    Been receiving ROTR for some months and must thank Christina for letting subscribers announce on the Roar board.

    My novel Deadly Enterprise was released July 18th – a thriller/soft SF/alternate world – that Lea Schizas of the Muse on Writing says of the protagonist:-
    Gisel’s character is so refreshing, not only because she is a woman and can defend herself, but the situations she finds herself in and how she eludes the enemy, well, you just have to read to understand why I loved this novel.

    It’s at Double Dragon http://www.double-dragon-ebooks.com/single.php?ISBN=1-55404-466-9

    Chris Hoare.

    http://www.serial-adventure-fiction.blogspot.com


Comments are currently closed.



RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 285,783 hits

