June Roar Board for Columnists and Subscribers!

What new and good that’s happening in your writing career? Jot it here in the form of a comment so we can share the wealth of good things happening to diligent and deserving writers today!

That’s me…the eternal optimist. I just can’t help it. 🙂

I’ll post mine tomorrow…but you go ahead and post yours now.

If you need a nudge, here are our May roars.

16 Responses to “June Roar Board for Columnists and Subscribers!”


  1. 1 Abby Green June 12, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Before she fled the corporate world to freelance, Abigail Green wrote an essay on work/life balance. It appeared in the Boston Globe on Sunday, June 10: http://www.boston.com/jobs/news/articles/2007/06/10/finding_personal_space_at_work_can_be_tough/?page=1

  2. 2 smm110861 June 12, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Hi All,
    I’ve just published my first novel, Out of the Ordinary, through booklocker.com and it has been a surprisingly easy, wonderfully professional and helpful experience. Not at all what I was expecting.

    Now that I’m holding the finished novel, printed, bound and ready to sell in my hand it’s the strangest feeling. A wonderful sense of accomplishment… pride in a job well done… and absolute terror that everyone will hate it and tell me I;m a talentless hack.

    I’m having the hardest time telling my friends and family about the new book… does anyone else struggle with this?

    Thanks for the chance to share, and congratulations to all the other budding (or established) authors out there!

    Take good care,
    Sue

  3. 3 Susan W. Clark June 12, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Columnist Susan Clark reporting in. (Wonder what happened to my prior post? Maybe cyber-gremlins.) My first check from the Portland Tribune arrived for an article based on my last year’s column in WOTR. Yippee!

    I have a new wordpress blog (http://susanwclark.wordpress.com) and have articles coming out in the next issues of both In Good Tilth and Touch the Soil (due out any day in health food stores, coops, etc).

    I plan to pitch a gardening book at the Willamette Writers conference. Putting it here is a step toward making that real!

  4. 4 Susan W. Clark June 12, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    Did I mention that my last article for In Good Tilth was mentioned by the Utne Reader – me by name, and my article as world-changing. What a boost!

  5. 5 Hope Clark June 12, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I’m having a good time. Maybe not the money kind, but still, good results this past month. I submitted my novel to 18 agents and have had three request to read the manuscript. The positive feedback has prompted me to outline the sequel and start Book 2 to my Carolina Slade agricultural mysteries.

    Also, I’m the feature in Byline Magazine this month – Self-Promotion From a Shy Writer. It looks great.

    Keep writing!

    Hope

  6. 6 Lisa Gates June 12, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Lisa Gates: On June 2 I had a short story/personal essay published with Literary Mama–http://www.literarymama.com/litreflections/

    The same story is in the editing stage with a print literary mag (I’ll be able to name them next month, I hope).

    Thanks to all who stop by to read about writing and coaching writers at Design Your Writing Life. It is a pleasure to be in your company!

  7. 7 Kristin Bair O'Keeffe June 12, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    KRISTIN BAIR O’KEEFFE’s article “Please Don’t Squish the Worms! 10 Creative Ways to Teach by Example” appears in the June or July issue of San Diego Family Magazine.

    Her article “A Writer’s Shanghai” appears in the November/December issue of Poets & Writers Magazine.

    Her article “Pedal Power: How Things Are Delivered in Shanghai, China” appears in an upcoming issue of Highlights for Children.

    She also just got word that she and her husband will be featured on a television special about expats who live, work, and play in Asia. The show will run on a Singaporean television station this fall.

  8. 8 Gregory A. Kompes June 12, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Queer Collection: Prose & Poetry 2007 is an international collection of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer authors expressing their queer voice on life, love, coming out, and hope for the future. I’m the editor on this wonderful anthology from Fabulist Flash Publishing and it’s now available through Amazon.com, the book’s website, and your favorite bookseller. ISBN: 978979361203

  9. 9 Sharon Cindrich June 13, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Finally! Two years after I began my book on parenting and technology…it has hit the shelves. E-Parenting: Keeping up with your Tech-Savvy Kids launched June 12th and is available in fine books and online at Amazon.com.

    Parents out there looking for an easy-to-understand guide book on all the technology that is clutter kitchen countertops, falling out of the jean pockets of your teens and competing with valuable family time will find tips on managing it all along with ideas on how to use technology to literally – and figuratively – gett plugged in to their kids. For more on the subject, visit my website at http://www.pluggedinparent.com.

  10. 10 The Writer Mama June 15, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Christina Katz has written (and published) so much in the past three years that her computer is about to explode! She just finished a holiday feature for Country Sampler Magazine, completed the first leg of her Writer Mama Book Tour (which ended with a bang! in NYC), wrapped up two amazing classes, and is gearing up to pitch her next two books. The best word to describe how she feels about having graduated from the first-time-published-author phase is relieved. She cannot wait for a week-long summer vacation with her family at the end of this month. Happy summer!

  11. 11 jess June 18, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    I sold a piece to Chicken Soup for the Chocolate Lover’s Soul. It will be out in November, I think.

  12. 12 Kristin Bair O'Keeffe June 23, 2007 at 2:51 am

    More good news! I just got word that one of my essays about the China experience is going to be published in the Winter issue of “The Baltimore Review.” It is due out in December.

  13. 13 Kristy June 29, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Hi! I just started freelancing in January. I’ve had about 5 articles accepted by Next Step Magazine, and I’ve also completed two freelance assignments for the Augsburg Fortress publishing house.

    Anyway, thanks for the motivating newsletter–it helps keep me going. I have two little boys (5 and 2), so your content is perfect for me…I do all of my writing during naps & preschool.

    Kristy

  14. 14 Magdalena Ball June 30, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Hi everyone. I’m very pleased to report that my first novel, Sleep Before Evening, has been scheduled for release on the 24th of July by BeWrite Books. Details on the book follow. More information and samples can be found by visiting The Compulsive Reader and clicking on Sleep is Coming. Thanks for letting me roar! Maggie

  15. 15 samantha waltz June 30, 2007 at 3:35 am

    What a terrific forum to hear of others’ successes. I am looking forward to personal essays in Cup of Comfort for Writers and Cup of Comfort for Dog-Lovers coming out late summer, Chicken Soup for Tea-Lovers and Chicken Soup for Chocolate Lovers out in November, and Cup of Comfort for Single Moms and Cup of Comfort for Horse Lovers out next Spring. How lucky I feel to share all this good news.

  16. 16 Ken Perinchief July 6, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Last year, Prairie Times of Byer, Colorado, accepted three of my short stories. This year so far I have submitted four, and had three accepted.

    Ken Perinchief
    Canby, Oregon


Comments are currently closed.



RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 284,733 hits

