Dear Fellow Writers…March Message

cmkwritermama.gif

Re: Am I Being Proactive?

Most writing-for-publication problems can be solved with the answer to this four-word question: “Am I being proactive?”

Because, let’s face it, the answer to this question is sometimes, “No.”

And yet, when nothing is happening, we writers often spend time analyzing why things aren’t going the way we’d like them to, rather than simply taking more action in the direction in which we’d like to succeed.

Writers can be reluctant, afraid, and sometimes downright stubborn. I know because I’ve been all of these things and­­––so far, at least––I don’t seem to have developed any immunity to these three “deadlies.”

What if I want to putter, procrastinate, and do just about anything but the task at hand? What is a right-brained, easily distracted girl like me to do when spring fever strikes with a vengeance?

Historically, the best way I get past “stuck” is by kicking myself into proactive gear (which usually means giving myself a lil’ ol’ boot in the derriere). I can use just about anything that seems more fun than what I am doing as bait to keep my writer-self on task.

A beautiful day? I get to go outside AFTER my work is done.
The urge to plant things? I get to garden AFTER I answer all my e-mails.
Planning and shopping for Samantha’s fifth birthday? (That does sound fun!) But only AFTER I confirm a few upcoming author appearances.

What have you done for your writing career lately? I’m talking about action steps. I’m talking about energetically connecting with others in a position to assist you in achieving the goals you set at the beginning of the year. Time to spring forward. Time to launch into action. Time to dare.

In the writing spirit,

Christina Katz

P.S.
My book Writer Mama, How To Raise A Writing Career Alongside Your Kids is now officially for sale, hurray! (Thank you, everyone, who pre-ordered by Valentine’s Day! The official thank you is here.) What a long and educational road it’s been getting to this point; and of course, now begins part two of the journey.

If you live in the Pacific Northwest, chances are good that I’ll be appearing at a bookstore or conference near you. Please check my event calendar for a complete list of appearances.

P.P.S.
Two classes with Christina Katz begin on April 18th: Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff and Platform Building Basics for Writers. Classes fill, so register today if you want to reserve your space! Get the full scoop at http://www.writersontherise.com/classes.html.

RSS RSS Subscribe to Writers on the Rise

  • This Blog Moving to ChristinaKatz.com as of December 30, 2009… December 27, 2009
    We’re moving! Writers on the Rise archives have been here for years. I hope that WordPress will let the archive live on for a good long time. However, it’s time to move on, bittersweet as change may be. Please come and find me at my new digs: http://christinakatz.com. And while we’re both thinking of it, […]
    The Writer Mama

RSS RSS Subscribe to WOTR Comments

a

Christina Katz's Facebook profile
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 286,957 hits

